Subscribe to the MIT Sloan CIO Symposium newsletter
The MIT Sloan CIO Leadership Award

The Award Application has closed. Finalists will be announced in late April.


The MIT Sloan CIO Leadership Award honors executives who lead their organizations to deliver exemplary levels of business value through innovative use of IT.

The Award, established in 2008, draws applicants from a wide diversity of industries, countries, and backgrounds. Recipients, and their organizations, receive broad recognition for their accomplishments.

Download information about the award

  • Nominees must hold the title of Chief Information Officer (CIO) or equivalent. They must be the highest-level IT leader in the organization.
  • Applicants are welcome from for-profit and not-for-profit organizations, with all assessed on a common set of criteria.
  • Applicants must present accomplishments related to the applicant’s current position. There is no fee to apply, but we are a volunteer organization so please nominate only those you feel have a good chance of being named a Finalist
  • Finalists will be expected to attend the Symposium in person. Finalists will receive complimentary admission to the Symposium but are responsible for their own travel expenses.
Where Are They Now?

Past Award Winners and Finalists continue their amazing achievements by moving into new roles, often “CIOplus”:

    • F. Thaddeus Arroyo (2014 Winner), CEO, Business Solutions and International, AT&T
    • Adriana Karaboutis (2014 Finalist), Chief Information and Digital Officer, National Grid
    • Michael Relich (2013 Finalist), COO at Crate and Barrel
    • Tom Nealon (2010 Winner), President, SouthWest Airlines

2019 Award Finalists

2019 Award Co-Chair Westerman, Finalist Evans, Winner Sundaram, Judge Wladawsky-Berger, Finalist Rao, Event Chair Anderson, Finalist Shah, Judge Johnson

2018 Award Co-Chair Westerman, Finalist Macrie, Finalist Riazi, Judge Wladawsky-Berger, Event Chair Anderson, Winner Mehta, Finalist Khurana, Co-Chair Chang